Law Office of Sam Byrd Focusing on Criminal and Family Law
Call to Schedule a consultation
423-954-7949 800-724-5435

drunk driving Archives

What is felony drunk driving?

There is no single charge of felony drunk driving in Tennessee, but rather a host of alleged conduct that may elevate a DUI charge to felony if it is proven at trial. This post will touch on some of the ways that a DUI charge may be converted into a felony DUI charge, but as with all legal matters, it is better that readers discuss their legal needs with their personal criminal defense or DUI defense attorneys.

What penalties can a driver face if they have DUI convictions?

It is in no one's interests to rack up DUI convictions in Tennessee. Therefore, a person can benefit from fighting their first DUI charge with the help of a zealous legal advocate who is committed to the protection of their client's rights. Fighting charges can prevent convictions from building up on a driver's records and subjecting them to serious penalties for amassing multiple DUI convictions.

When are ignition interlock devices ordered?

Most Tennessee drivers have heard of breathalyzer tests. A breathalyzer test is an assessment undertaken by a law enforcement official upon a person that they believe was driving while under the influence of alcohol. In order to perform the test the suspected drunk driver must blow into a tube so that the alcohol content of their breath may be analyzed.

How serious is underage drunk driving in Tennessee?

Any drunk driving arrest and conviction can have long-term consequences on the life of the affected individual. This can be especially true of the person in question is under the age of 21 when their alleged drunk driving arrest takes place. Tennessee has in place strict laws that can prevent young alleged drunk drivers from exercising their driving privileges and imposing upon them other penalties for their purported conduct.

Getting help with a Fourth of July DUI charge

Every year many Tennessee residents take to the roads to visit with family and friends over the Fourth of July holiday. The Fourth of July is an important day to celebrate the independence of the nation but also to embrace the special opportunities that the summer months offer. With pleasant weather and great company, individuals may spend their day outdoors, enjoying cook-outs and indulging in alcoholic beverages.

Tennessee's zero tolerance law

Drunk driving in the state of Tennessee is defined by driving while under the influence of alcohol. If a person's blood alcohol concentration is at or above 0.08 percent, then they are considered intoxicated and in violation of the law. However, for individuals under the age of 21, the standard is much higher since it is illegal for those below the 21 year age threshold to consume alcohol.

Commonly used breathalyzer test may have flaws

Tennessee residents understand that driving after they have been drinking is not a good idea. A drunk driving conviction is a serious matter, often resulting in thousands of dollars in fines, a tarnished reputation and even jail time. Many times, a person receives a drunk driving conviction because of a breathalyzer test. But researchers say a common breathalyzer used by law enforcement may not be accurate.

Drunk driving allegations are serious legal dilemmas

This Tennessee legal blog has offered several informative posts on ways that law enforcement officials may collect evidence of intoxication from individuals who they believe have driven while drunk. These collection tools can include breathalyzer and blood tests, field sobriety tests, and other assessments. If a person is stopped and arrested for drunk driving, they should know that law enforcement officers believe they are guilty and that they are in for a serious legal battle regarding their driving sobriety.

DUI defense: ways to challenge breathalyzer test results

When a Tennessee resident is stopped on suspicion of drunk driving they may be asked to submit to various tests to assess whether they are intoxicated. This legal blog has previously discussed field sobriety tests and the problems that may accompany their execution, but this post will focus on one of the main ways that law enforcement officials gain blood alcohol concentration information on their drunk driving suspects: breathalyzer tests.

Tennessee's implied consent law

Drivers who consume alcohol before getting behind the wheel of their cars can pose a threat to others on the roads, as they may not be in control of their actions. For this reason, Tennessee and the other 49 states in the nation have created drunk driving laws that are intended to deter individuals from climbing behind the wheel while intoxicated and to punish individuals who are believed to be under the influence while driving. This post will look at one of the state's most important drunk driving laws: implied consent.

| Email Us For A Response

Get the help you need

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Contact The Law Office of Sam Byrd

Law Office of Sam Byrd
3828 Dayton Blvd
Chattanooga, TN 37415

Phone: 423-954-7949
Toll free: 800-724-5435
Chattanooga Law Office Map


NCDD National College for DUI Defense: Samuel A Byrd