It is in no one's interests to rack up DUI convictions in Tennessee. Therefore, a person can benefit from fighting their first DUI charge with the help of a zealous legal advocate who is committed to the protection of their client's rights. Fighting charges can prevent convictions from building up on a driver's records and subjecting them to serious penalties for amassing multiple DUI convictions.
In Tennessee a person who has had four or more drunk driving convictions may be charged with a Class E felony. That means that they can be sentenced to at least a year in jail with the possibility of a longer period of incarceration. Additionally, they can be forced to pay a fine of up to $15,000 and have their license revoked for up to 8 years.
In the event that the individual is able to eventually get their license back, they may have to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle. Other drivers, depending upon the alleged crimes and convictions, may have to give up their vehicles through forfeiture or may have to attend alcohol treatment programs to address their allegedly dangerous consumption issues.
Jail time, fines, the loss of one's license and potentially the loss of one's car are all penalties that can disrupt the life of a person who needs to drive to manage their daily responsibilities. Getting help with drunk driving charges may mean the difference between avoiding a DUI conviction and protecting one's record from charges that may, if amassed, lead to the loss of one's right to drive in the state of Tennessee.