Drunk driving in the state of Tennessee is defined by driving while under the influence of alcohol. If a person's blood alcohol concentration is at or above 0.08 percent, then they are considered intoxicated and in violation of the law. However, for individuals under the age of 21, the standard is much higher since it is illegal for those below the 21 year age threshold to consume alcohol.
Individuals who are allowed to drive but not legally allowed to drink are held to a zero tolerance policy. This policy is codified in Tennessee law and generally states that if a person under the age of 21 is found to be driving with alcohol in their system they are in violation of the law. A person need only have 0.02 percent alcohol in their blood alcohol concentration to be in violation of the zero tolerance policy.
The penalties for violating the state's zero tolerance law are steep. A driver may have their license revoked for an entire year and may be subject to a hefty fine. Additionally, they may be forced to perform community service as a punishment for the alleged wrongdoing.
All drunk driving allegations are serious, and even individuals who are under the legal drinking age can be penalized if they are suspected of driving while under the influence of alcohol. There is no guaranteed way to avoid a conviction on a drunk driving matter but individuals who want to take proactive steps to protect their futures and exercise their rights are encouraged to prepare legal defense strategies that are tailored to their cases.